If you’re looking for a good time…

One of my favorite nerdy celebrities, Felicia Day, started up a book club this year and I’ve been really enjoying it from the get-go. It involves one of my favorite genres: paranormal romance. Granted, the group, Vaginal Fantasy, has a really strange name that I constantly have to explain and gets REALLY misinterpreted when I tweet with it.

The premise – Felicia Day, along with fellow nerdy ladies Kiala Kazebee, Veronica Belmont and Bonnie Burton get together once a month to discuss (via Google Hangout chat broadcasted live on YouTube) the book that we’ve all read. Just like any book club, nothing new there. However, the added fun is found in the discussion of the material, which usually involves “naughty times,” and the added bonus of alcohol! It also has a Goodreads forum and a website – all easily searchable with the Vaginal Fantasy keywords. This is a blog, not a journalistic news source, do your own research!

I really enjoy the differing personalities of the ladies. I feel that at any time there are differing points of view and I bounce from lady to lady (weird visual there) as to which I might agree with regarding whatever topic. It gets a bit tangential from time to time, but what meeting of the minds doesn’t, especially when it involves friends, women and wine, amirite?

It’s a unique book club for people who are already interested in the genre or are looking to explore it. The books that have been chosen are very diverse (urban paranormal, historical romance, high fantasy, steampunk, tentacle-related erotica!!) but for the most part all share female protagonists and some element of romance.

Just putting the word out there for anyone looking for something new to read. 😛

Leave a comment