A few notes

Honestly, nothing much has happened around here in a bit, so there’s no major updates. But as I have resolved to try and blog more consistently, here I go. We’re going to freewheel it from here. Also, I just did a quick Google search of freewheel to get an idea of the etymology of such a term and got a bunch of mechanic related returns, so I shall close that tab and forget it ever happened.

I have been reading too many trashy novels lately. And by trashy, I just mean that they are easily used and disposed of – nothing of major substance to be found in them. Most of it is my fault, but some of it is frustrating. I want to read an adventure in which the main character is a female and she goes on an adventure. Most of those types of stories are romances, and it’s not my fault that the plot/intrigue is superfluous to the relationship between the characters. I was saying this the other day, but I would just like to read a story in which the main female character goes on an adventure and there ISN’T a boy involved, or at least their relationship isn’t the main driving point. There’s plenty out there in the reverse. And I know that there are novels out there like that, I just need to be more selective, because I am getting tired of this.

I painted my nails mint green the other day. I usually prefer darker colors as I am pale and I like the stark contrast, but I’m sick of the cold weather and I’m basically willing spring to come, one nail at a time.

My current gym book is The Book of Blood and Shadows, which is pretty interesting so far, despite my earlier complaints (see above). It’s taking a bit longer than I’d like for the story to progress, but I think that also may have something to do with the fact that I’m listening to the story and not reading it and the pace is quite a bit slower than my natural reading pace. I had a similar complaint regarding Ready Player One (which I also listened to and which really turned around for me and I quite enjoyed).

Reading this book has brought back some memories of grief and how I dealt with it, how I still deal with it today. Future blog post, possibly.

Also, the defense – kinda – of today’s generation and their inability to differentiate between fantasy and reality. I was talking to a lady at work about this today and at the end of our conversation she said I should run for office, which is patently ridiculous. I am not cut out for the political landscape. But I do like psychology.

Finally, I have a recipe for some summer porridge I’m going to have to try out soon as I’m sick of my normal breakfast sandwiches and long for a change. And I’m too lazy to want to cook anything anymore. Stay tuned to see how new adventure turns out. It may even involve powdered peanut butter, a concept as astronautical (yep) as freeze-dried ice cream!

Leave a comment