How I changed my diet and lost 72 pounds

I have had quite a few requests of the “what’s your secret” variety regarding my recent health journey. The truth is, there’s no real secret. Everything you’ve been told your whole life is true. Watch what you eat, not only amounts but also types of foods, and move more. That’s the “secret” to my success. But in attempt to answer part of the question of what I did to lose weight, here’s my basic meal planning guide which I have tweaked and changed over the past year.

Breakfast Option 1 – Egg Muffin Light

2 egg whites, thin-sliced provolone cheese, and 2-3 slices of smoked turkey breast on an English muffin.

Breakfast Option 2 – Oatmeal

Steel cut oats, if served warm, with raisins, pecans and sweetened with honey or maple syrup.

Any one of these recipes for summer porridge – quick, easy and let me tell you, really filling! I eat this around 7-8 and I’m not hungry again until almost 2! I’ll do a separate post soon for my  slightly tweaked version which is a powerhouse.

Lunch Option 1 – Spinach Wrap

Spinach wrap (chicken breast, roasted garlic hummus, salad greens, shredded carrots and avocado), sugar snap peas, prunes and applesauce

Lunch Option 2 – Quinoa salad

Salad (salad greens, avocado, quinoa, black beans, chicken breast, hummus), baby carrots, prunes and appplesauce

Dinner

There are quite a few options here as I tend to change things up often. I’ll do a separate post including my favorite recipes, but I do love to do grilled chicken breast or tilapia with broccoli or green beans.

Snacks/Desserts

Cottage Cheese with fruit

Greek yogurt and banana

Larabar (the brownie one is amazing)

Unsalted peanuts

Sugar snap peas and baby carrots

I’m sure there’s more to come, but that’s the basic run down of what my meals are during the week. The whole point of planning this ahead is to make sure I’m eating healthy and whole foods with a minimum of prep work. I like to eat well but I’m also not a fan of slaving away in the kitchen for hours on end. Let me know if you’d like to know more tips and tricks, recipe suggestions, etc.!
Have a great week!

 

Leave a comment