Dagger in the Dark

I was going through my personal stories folder in my computer and found a story I was working on when I was still in high school and just barely in college.  Pretty rough, but fun nonetheless! Its title is Dagger in the Dark, which is just too cute.

***

It was cold that night. I pulled my cloak tighter around my body for extra warmth as I traveled through the dark alleys, carefully avoiding any light and noise that might attract attention to me. My eyes picked up on every nook, cranny, and shadow that fell around me, memorizing its placement for possible future use. You never know when you may have to hide in the shadows, avoiding capture like a rabbit outwitting the foxes. The foxes were the other army‘s soldiers, because I was on a mission from Malkanen to get the military documents at his enemy’s headquarters. Just the thought of that evil man Malkanen made my skin crawl, so I forced it out of my mind, and instead replaced it with the thought of the money I would be getting for this mission. That thought alone was enough to compel me to go on, not to mention the other deal we had struck. In exchange of my skills, Malkanen would give me information about whereabouts of the legendary Soul Reaper, the most prized dagger to all thieves.

This exchange was much more acceptable to me than the deal he had originally wanted to strike. I could still remember his eyes on me as I sat in his bedchamber, and I knew then that it wasn’t only my skills that he was interested in. With one arm around each of his chambermaids, sitting negligently in his dressing gown only halfway done up so that I could see a muscular chest and legs, he calmly asked me if I would help him get a certain piece of documentation as to the strengths and whereabouts of King Ranton’s army.

“And if I agree to this? What’s in it for me?” I asked, my voice not quavering despite my unease and irritation.

“Well, in return for this deed, I would give you the honor of a night in my bed.” His eyes traveled up and down my body, from chestnut colored hair escaping a hastily done plait, to toes encased in soft leather, and every curve in between.

I couldn’t help it. I laughed out loud at the ludicrous thought. Even though I could see Malkanen’s face twist in anger, and what that might mean for me, I laughed even harder, covering my mouth with my hand. I was aware of how cold my laughter sounded, but that didn’t bother me. Finally, I got enough control of myself to answer back to him, “I don’t think that sounds like a fair deal. You had better come up with something a little more substantial and interesting if you want me to work for you.”

So came about our deal. I get military communications for him and he gives me information on the dagger, and a hefty monetary sum. Sounded like a deal to me, and I quickly geared up for my excursion to the other army’s base, calling up the best informant that I had, as to the army‘s guards, both in strength and numbers. I had carefully planned it all down to the last detail, even giving me three alternate routes out of the base in case something unexpected happened, as it always does. I had my daggers strapped securely around my hips as I stalked slowly toward the tent where I knew the information was being stored. I quickly did a check of my surroundings and saw that most of the men had gone to their own tents. Only one burly yet tired looking guard stood in my way of completing the mission. I slowly made my way around the tent, making sure that no one else got up in the middle of the night and walked into me. I patiently waited until I saw the guard’s head drop against his chest, and didn’t move until I heard his slight snoring. Then I silently took out my dagger and cut a slit in the side of the tent, quietly slipping in, and rooting around through the papers, trying to find the one I needed without making noise to attract attention.

It was almost too easy. I had an eerie feeling about it as I gripped the document in my hand, looking around carefully. The only thing I could see was the guard as he slept soundly at his post. I silently laughed to myself. This army definitely needed some work. Just as I was making my way out of the tent through the front, my heart stopped as the flap opened up on its own. In stepped in a soldier from the ranks, and immediately our eyes met, and I knew I had to think fast. I froze, going through possible emergency situations in my mind. But somehow, his dark blue eyes distracted me and I felt all my senses drawn to him. My body tensed, prepared to jump at any movement from him. We stood there motionless for what seemed like hours, and I could feel his hot gaze travel slowly over my body. Oddly, I wasn’t repulsed like I was with Malkanen. I let my eyes dip down to evaluate his muscular body. He definitely wasn’t a soldier of leisure.

Suddenly, he made a move toward me, and I immediately sprung into action. I dodged his grasp, dived headfirst through the slit I had made, rolling then springing onto my feet before running toward the nearest exit, weaving in between the other tents as I made my way through the dark night. I reviewed in my mind, and decided that the two easiest routes were out now, because I couldn’t risk being that exposed, through the empty streets with nothing to block the view of my escape. Instead I made my way through the alleyways, weaving through the buildings, my footsteps echoing slightly in the otherwise silent night. It wasn’t until I was very far away from the compound that I realized that there had been no call to alarm sounded, and I couldn’t hear any other sound in the quiet night besides the harsh sound of my own breathing. Just in case, I still stalked through the dark streets, not making any noise, avoiding all doors where I could possibly meet up with anyone else. I silently wondered why that soldier hadn’t called an alarm, but just brushed the nagging feeling off, thankful that he hadn’t. I touched my pocket to make sure the paper was still in there, then decided that Malkanen could wait, and went to my own inn room to celebrate my successful mission.

~+~

I was surprised to find a few people still in the main hall of the inn I was staying in. I tried to sneak in quietly through the door and make directly to my room, but I was spotted by a very loud, very drunk man near the door.

“Why hello there pretty lady, what are you doing out by yourself at this late hour?” He asked, speech slurred from drink.

“Who says I was by myself?” I asked provocatively, arching my eyebrow, and propping my leg up, pretending to adjust my hose, but actually just giving the men in the room a little extra view of leg.

“Oh, so you already got rid of one guy for the night? Care to take on another?” Another man said. “How much do you cost?”

Instead of showing how insulted and angry I was, I simply cocked a hip to one side. “More money than you have, sugar. Besides, I’m already booked for tonight. I have a soldierly gentleman visiting, so if you’ll excuse me, I must get ready.” With a wave of my fingers, I was off.

~+~

I reached into my cloak, eyeing Malkanen warily. I was in his bedchamber yet again, this time without any chambermaids, yet he was still in his dressing gown. He watched my hand as I retrieved the papers from the pocket on the inside and handed them to him. He greedily took them from my grasp. I stood there silently as he read them, verifying their authenticity.

“Thank you my dear. I see that you are more than your body makes you out to be.” His eyes skimmed over my body yet again, and I fought back the bile that rose up in my throat.

“Yes, there have been many a man that have discounted me simply because I am a woman, though none can tell the tale now. I would sincerely hope that you would not be stupid enough to become one of them.” I said, my voice dripping with venom.

“Ahh, such words out of such a lovely mouth. I can teach you to do more beautiful things with that tongue than spit out words of malice, my dear beautiful Einah.” He eyed me with interest, his finger trying to caress my cheek.

“Perhaps another time.” I pulled away. Now for your end of the bargain.”

“Patience, my lovely. Did you really think that I would give you such invaluable information for such a paltry assignment? I pray that you are not such a fool. No, I have bigger and better things planned for you.”

It took more self-control than I thought I possessed, but I remained calm. “And what kind of honorable man do you make yourself out to be when you change the agreement after it has already been met?”

“I never claimed to be an honorable man, my dear.”

I refused to admit that this man had duped me, but I felt the anger seethe inside me.

“Very well, what is it that you want me to do this time?”

“Much the same thing, but as an addition, destroy the ammunition in the bunkers to the left of the intelligence tent. Your opportunity to make some noise, although I would prefer it that you made noise while under me, but this will do for the time being.”

And with that, I was off again on my second mission for this dagger that I was determined to get. It would confirm to all thieves out there that I was the most talented thief, woman or no.

Leave a comment