My journey begins…

 

Okay, so it’s not entirely true. I officially started this journey March 9th, but I’ve been busy lazy about updating. However, it has come to critical mass on my mind, so attention must be paid, because I know there will come a point in all this where I am weak and I want to throw in the towel and give up. Hopefully, whenever that happens, I’ll read this and be encouraged.

I’ve been heavy all my life. Call it what you want, I was an obese child and now I’m an obese adult. I was always much more in touch with my imagination than my feet as a child. I’m not blaming anyone, because although there were factors which lead to my weight, the decision not to do something about my size is inevitably mine. I turned 27 this year. I realized that if I don’t do something about my weight and my lifestyle then I’m not going to live to a ripe old age to torment those I love. 😀

So, March 9th marked a change in my lifestyle. I started walking, going to the gym, using the Wii Fit and basically doing anything that would add some movement to my life. Unfortunately, I did not take my starting weight. This was partially due to the fact that I just didn’t want to know it and also because I didn’t have an accessible scale that could record my weight (I’m unfortunately heavy enough to need a higher capacity scale).

But honestly, that’s okay, because I know I’m not in this for the numbers. I’m truly, and finally(!!), ready for lifestyle change. I want to eat healthier and be more active. I want to someday do the Run for the Zoo or something like that and actually RUN it. I want to be able to do a martial art or dance and be graceful.  And I’m on my way.

They say it takes 21 days to create a habit. I’ve been doing this almost twice that and I can tell that it is a habit. I don’t always work as hard some days as I do others. I eat better some days than I do others. The point is that I’m trying and it’s showing. Multiple people have mentioned it to me at work and I can feel the difference. My body feels better, I have more energy. My body is tightening up and leaning down. It’s a fantastic feeling and I want to keep it up. I’m not afraid or ashamed to get on the scale anymore, because I see the numbers going down and I see progress. It’s not about where I was, it’s about where I am, where I’m going and the journey to get there.

(This is kind of all over the place, but that’s kind of the point of a blog, right? – I don’t have to censor or gather myself in a journal style entry, as far as I’m concerned.)

Leave a comment